Essex Shipbuilding Museum Rededicates A.D. Story Shipyard
On Saturday, September 20, The Essex Historical Society & Shipbuilding Museum will be rededicating the A.D. Story Shipyard on 2008 at the site of the shipyard ‘ 66 Main Street, Essex, MA.
In the early 1990’s, The Essex Shipbuilding Museum purchased the site of the A.D. Story Shipyard where shipbuilding had flourished for over 300 years. This historic site is where the Story family operated its shipyards from 1813 to the end of World War II. The yard is still active and showcases machines, tools, materials and boats.
For the past several years, access to the shipyard has been limited due to contaminants discovered in the soil as a result of centuries of shipbuilding. During this past winter and spring, the shipyard went through a comprehensive remediation program to meet stringent EPA standards.
During this summer, the museum has embarked on a comprehensive program to enhance and improve the grounds, signage, and access to exhibits, both old and new.
The September 20th Rededication will celebrate the re-opening of the shipyard and its exhibits, honoring those who have given so generously of their time over the past several years. Tours will take place throughout the day, great food will be available, as well as terrific music. Mark your calendars to join us on the special day.
Saturday, September 20, 2008 starting at 10:00 am
Rededication of the A.D. Story Shipyard
Essex Historical Society & Shipbuilding Museum
66 Main Street
Essex, MA 01929
Free parking at the town lot
Rededication ‘ 10:00 am
Tours, and exhibits ‘ 11:00 am ‘ 3:00 pm
Lunch and beverages ‘ Noon ‘ 2:30 pm
Music ‘ 1:00 pm ‘ 3:00 pm
For additional information: