Weather, Rocky Neck Art Colony’s Annual Juried Show

Weather, Rocky Neck Art Colony’s Annual Juried Show

The Rocky Neck Art Colony’s national juried show, Weather opens at the Bryan Gallery, 53 Rocky Neck Ave. in East Gloucester on May 18 and runs until June 10. The public is invited to a Meet-the-Artists Reception on Saturday, May 26 from 4 to 8 pm at the Bryan Gallery, during which three cash prizes will be awarded. The show is open on Thursdays from noon to 6pm, Fridays and Saturdays from 10am to 8pm and Sundays and Memorial Day from 10am to 6pm.

Karen Quinn, Assistant Curator of Paintings, Art of the Americas, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, selected 58 pieces for the show from 308 submissions from artists around the country. Ms. Quinn provided this insight into her selection process:

“As this exhibition demonstrates, weather can be interpreted in unexpected ways_–literal, abstract, personal, objective–and all contribute to an original presentation of the theme. The extraordinary level of quality of the submissions to this show made it difficult to select individual objects. In the end, a mix of the innovative and the traditional was chosen to represent the broadest range of approaches to the subject. All of the artists, whether chosen or not, should be proud of their work; it is inspiring to see that the tradition of excellence of the Rocky Neck Art Colony continues into the 21st century.”

Participating artists come from Cape Ann, and New England and as far away as Arizona and Minnesota. They include: Saira Elizabeth Austin, Leslie D. Bartlett, James Bird,

Peter Black, Dale Blank, Karl Bronk, Jennifer Brook, Cynthia Capone, Elizabeth Carter,

Anna Coniaris Comolli, Robert Connery, Maura Conron, Elaine A Cummings, Esme YC Disch, Donna Dussault, Peter Flister, Robin Gibson, Gordon Goetemann, Kim Grall, Jeanne Greenleaf, Carol A. Groezinger, Law Hamilton, Pat Hennon, Susan Hershey, Phyllis J. Kaplan, Elynn Kr’ger, Matt Kruback, Maria Lorena Lehman, Andrew John Liccardo, Linda Mahoney, Elizabeth McLindon, Aaron Miller, Anna Mogilwsky, Judith Monteferrante, Ruth Mordecai, Eileen Mueller, Robin Nuse, David Piemonte, John Robinson, Judy Robinson-Cox, Tom Robinson-Cox, Carol J. Schena, David Sebberson,

Michael Seif, Patricia N. Sullivan, Lynn S. Swigart, Ed Touchette, Erin Treacy, Kathryn Tuck, Eoin Vincent, and Heidi Caswell Zander.

For more information call Amanda Nash at 617-417-3777.